If you wish to keep your bookmarks, passwords, autofill, browsing history and all other Chrome settings synced, (you may be changing over to a new machine, or perhaps just want everything backed up), you can do so by syncing this data with an existing Google Account.

WARNING: If you initiate a sync with your data after signing in, and then sign out of that account, all data will disappear in Chrome as it is now associated with said account. To recover it, you will need to sign back into that account in Chrome.

It is therefore worth checking you have all the bookmarks, passwords etc you require before initiating the sync; for example, you may have other passwords and bookmarks in Edge or Firefox.

To reiterate, once data is linked with a Google account, retrieving this data to associate with a different account or disassociating the data from the original account is a much more complex process. So it's best to be certain everything's there before you start.

Getting everything synced up

You can do this in the following way:

  1. Navigate to the top right of your Chrome window and select the avatar. Then click Turn on sync
  2. You will then be prompted to sign into your Google Account
  3. If you are using an account managed by your organisation, the following dialog will appear. If you agree, click 'Link data'
  4. You will then be prompted to initiate the sync
  5. And that's it! Your Chrome data is now synced up and ready to rock!